Prattville Fire Chief Named Fire Chief of the Year


CONTACT: Teresa M. Lee, or (334) 595-0102

February 6, 2017


ChiefBrownOn February 2, 2017, the Alabama Association of Fire Chiefs announced that Prattville Fire Chief Terry Brown had been selected as their Fire Chief of the Year.

Chief Brown started his career with Prattville Fire Department’s (PFD) in 1987. Over the course of his career, he has put the department and our community first. He began as a Firefighter/EMT and worked his way through the ranks as a supervisor and company officer.

In 1997, Terry Brown transferred to PFD Fire Marshal’s Office. He was promoted to Assistant Chief and appointed Fire Marshal in April 2002. In 2007, Terry Brown became the PFD’s first Deputy Chief.

After serving as interim Fire Chief for approximately 18 months, Terry Brown was promoted to Fire Chief September 2012. He has continued to serve this community and the fire service with distinction in his role as Fire Chief.

Chief Brown earned an Associate’s Degree in Fire Science from Pikes Peak Community College in 2002. He holds numerous certifications through the Alabama Fire College and National Fire Academy.

He has contributed to the fire service through service as a Board Member of the Alabama Fire College Foundation, the Alabama Assocation of Fire Chiefs, the Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs, the Fire Marshals Association of Alabama, the Prattville Planning Commission, and the Autauga County Board of Education Safety Committee.

In 2013, Police Chief Mark Thompson and Chief Brown worked together to create a Police & Fire Citizen’s Academy. This has been a tremendous benefit to the community and all citizens that have participated in learning more about what Public Safety does and why they function as they do.

Chief Brown’s leadership has inspired others in the fire service to take leadership roles in the aforementioned fire associations, ensuring the continuation of the traditions of the fire service for years to come.

On February 9th, Chief Brown will celebrate his 30th anniversary with the City of Prattville. We congratulate him and are proud to call him one of our own!