Create PDF

City Government

swearing-in 11072016 mayor and council
In front of the dais: Mayor Bill Gillespie.
On the dais (L to R): Councilor Marcus Jackson, Council President Pro Tempore Denise Brown, Councilor Jerry Starnes, Council President Albert Striplin, Councilor Richard Cables, Councilor Robert Strichik, & Councilor Lora Lee Boone.

The City of Prattville operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. Candidates run for election in the district in which they live. Mayoral candidates must run citywide. Municipal elections are non-partisan and candidates are not required to declare allegiance to any political party. Terms are for four years. There is no limit to the number of terms that a Council member or Mayor can serve. Presently, there are seven council districts within the City of Prattville.

Compensation information for the City Council and the Mayor for the current term is:

Annual Salary  
Mayor $90,000; $12,000 car & fuel allowance
City Council President $20,000
City Council Member $17,500
FICA 7.65% of gross wages
Group Health Insurance Elected officials are eligible to participate in Group Health Care Insurance
Group Life Insurance Elected officials are covered under the City of Prattville Group Life Insurance Plan
Worker's Compensation Elected officials are covered by the City of Prattville Group Worker's Compensation Plan

Character Trait for April

IACC Eagle LogoHumility
Acknowledging that achievement results from others' investment in life.

Click the trait to see this month's Character newsletter (and a list of previous editions). For a list of all traits, or to view past newsletters, please visit the Prattville-Autauga Character Coalition website. To subscribe, please use our E-newsletter subscriber feature and be sure to "check" Character Coalition when completing the brief form.